5R55S transmission rebuild | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

5R55S transmission rebuild

thanks laurentg, pictures do tell a thousand words, im sure they will be very handy to other DIYers.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

It sounds like you have been receiving a decent amount of bad information. Ford still sells solenoid blocks; the most recent revision is part number 9L2Z-7G391-A and can be had from dealers like Tasca for just under $300.

I have no experience with the Sonnax remanufactured units. It does look like they at least attempt to improve them with an external circuit board, unlike most places that just pull used low mileage units and call them rebuilt. However, they are still rebuilding an older revision and they are not addressing the internal wear issues. Spending a little more for the right part is still my recommendation.

You need to unscrew the 10mm electrical connection on the top of the solenoid block...like I said:
i have to get suv back on the road.too cold to drive atv.
my 1/4 "ratchet got the bolt out of the electric plug.i instaledl the 'rebuilt' one.cost 241.salesman says its better than oem.
i just got internet service.
shop wanted $150 labor,$350 for part,fluid $3.50 qt.wrecker $100
i hope you guys will help with future repairs.180,000 miles.
front sway bar needs rubber bushings.where do i buy those?i avoid dealerships after being cheated.