• Register Today It's free!

94 Drum Brakes Shoe Question

KridVT

Reaction score
City, State
Fairfax, Virginia
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Explorer XLT
Hello! I have a real quick embarassing question.

I recently replaced the rear shoes (drum brakes) so I could get the state safety inspection. I got signed off, but the mechanic said that I put the two primary shoes on the same side and the two secondary shoes on the same side. I told him I inspected the new shoes when I put them on and couldnt really notice a difference. He said maybe there isnt a primary and secondary then, but he wasnt sure.

I have been driving on it for two weeks now and havent noticed any problems .I even touched the drums after driving and neither feels to be hotter than the other. I was curious one day and inspected both sides. Instead of the adjuster showing the same amount of threads on both sides, one side shows the normal amount of threads (compared to what it was before I replaced the shoes), and the other side shows hardly any threads (i.e the adjuster is at minimum overall length). Is this evidence that the two primarys are on the same side?

Any suggestions? Please advise. I dread the possibility of having to remove those springs again. Thanks I apprecaite it!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!