• Register Today It's free!

94 spitting codes

Jameszar

Reaction score
City, State
Mission B.C.
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 XLT
First off, thank you Blacksheep Josh for the list of codes and their meanings, very helpful. I used the wire bridge trick and sat in my explorer for about a half hour making dashes on paper.This is what she told me.
335 O EGR Sensor voltage out-of-range
171 C Heated Oxygen sensor unable to switch, right side
172 R,C Heated Oxygen sensor indicates lean condition, right side
175 C Heated oxygen sensor unable to switch, left side
176 C Heated oxygen sensor indicates lean condition, left side
181 C Adaptive Fuel rich limit reached at part throttle, right side
186 C Injector Pulse-width higher than expected
189 C Adaptive Fuel rich limit reached, left side
332 C,R EGR valve opening not detected.

Okay, so first and last are EGR one for the sensor one for the valve and a bunch of stuff that (I'm no mechanic) could maybe caused by mister EGR valve failing? Options, opinions? I'm a carpenter not a mechanic lol.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The EGR and O2 sensor codes may or may not be related. Usually I think the best approach on something like this is to track down the KOEO codes first. According to your list, the 335 is the only KOEO code, so I would start there.

One of the things that make KOEO codes easier to diagnose is that they are almost always electrical (because they are set while the engine is off). KOEO 335 normally points to a fault in the DPFE sensor circuit. As common as it is for the DPFE itself to fail, I would quickly check the connections and such to the DPFE for obvious faults. If nothing obvious comes up, then I would replace the DPFE.

Then, clear CM codes, test drive, and see if the O2 sensor codes come back.