Another air conditioning problem thread...help please | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Another air conditioning problem thread...help please

rc1626

Reaction score
City, State
Long Island, N.Y.
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Explorer XLT
I have a 99 Ford Explorer and since the end of last season my ac has been going down hill. The air coming from the vents has gotten warmer and warmer. I went out and bought a set of guages and here is what I've found.

With engine running and ac set to MAX:
Low Side:
22-45 sometimes going to 55 as compressor cycles.

High Side:
125-140 as compressor cycles.

The compressor is cycling almost constantly.

Any ideas?

I don;t know if I have an expansion valve or orifice tube? Could that be blocked. Could it be the swith on top of the evaporator(think that's what it is)?

Obviously I'm a newbie but looking to learn.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Rob

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I posted this over in the ac forum as well but thought it may get more views here. Sorry for the double post.
I have a 99 explorer and since the end of last year the ac has blown warmer and warmer air.
I bought a set of guages and hooked them up and hear are the numbers I got:
Low Side:
22-45 sometimes going to 55 as compressor cycles.

High Side:
125-140 as compressor cyles.

Compressor seems to be cycling constantly.

Any ideas?

Blocked orifice tube or expansion valve? (don't know which one this car has)

Could it be the switch on top of the evaporator? (I think that's what it is)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Rob