• Register Today It's free!

Building my truck

SPORTEXPLORE94

Reaction score
City, State
Colorado
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Ford Explorer
I recently came across a 1994 Ford Explorer Sport, I has a manual trans and 4WD ONLY 43k on it. Just went and picked up some nice tires and im starting to look around for modifications to do on it. I take it through mountain passes and off road trails so i was thinking small lift and intake but I am fairly new at this. Any ideas?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

small lift is good- Intake/exhaust is ok- there is 1,000,000 different mods on this thread depending on all kinds of factors- Decide what you want the truck to do then search for a mod that makes that happen. :)

Sas!!!!!!!!!!!!! :d

we are in the same boat friend.. i got a 92 4 door 4x4 with a man trans for free (traded an ok running suz. vx800 v-twin, doesnt really work with a new kid that i have to take to the baby sitter 4 days a week) and im going to be using it for hunting... i just had my first kid 6 months ago so money is tight, im not going to be big on the lift or anything, its going to be purpose built. so ill tell you what i plan to do and what ive already done:

fyi i live in central CA and the logging/hunting roads are pretty easy (been up hunting 5 times this season and my 2000 2wd sport went everywhere i wanted to go) and my X will be a daily driver 3/5 days a week.

i am going to go 3 maybe 4 inch lift, most likely from james duff (their kits can be upgraded to a bigger lift by just buying the additional parts for the lift you want, instead of buying a whole new kit.)

i have not decided if i am going to put a body lift on yet in addition to the suspension lift.

i plan on running 31s or 32s but no bigger then 33s.