Bulb in headlight switch burned out. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Bulb in headlight switch burned out.

jaxmo

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum and I'd appreciate any help I can get.
I recently purchased a 96 Sport 4X4. I replaced some burned out instrument bulbs (with the help of this forum. Thanks) but ther are two bulbs I can't find anywhere, even at the Ford dealer. They are the bulbs that illuminate the headlight switch and one in the 4X4 switch. They look identical but as I said I can't locate them anywhere. The Ford Dealer says they are no longer available. He said I can upgrade to new switches but the new ones aren't illuminated. I guess my switches upgraded themselves. Anyone know where I can get them?
Thanks,
Jim

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Do you know what numbers are on the bulb? Will help locating replacements.

-Tim

Do a search here for headlight switch bulb... there are posts about "replacement" equivalents that won't mean you have to buy a new switch ($40) for a 25 cent bulb.

Here is the replacement info:

The generic bulb that BUDWICH used is the type available from RADIO SHACK for about $2. It is the #7219 bulb, Radio Shack part #272-1092 and comes in a pack of 2 bulbs. 12 volts, 60mA, wire terminal base. Super simple to rewire into the holder from the switch and the burned out bulb has a rubber sleeve that can be reused ro give you back that light blue or green tint.

Excerpt from: http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149874&highlight=headlight+switch+bulb

Hope that helps
-Tim

Thanks Tim. I'll stop at Radio Shack today and I'll let you know how it goes.
Jim