• Register Today It's free!

Ceramic Pads?

ricco750

Reaction score
City, State
Springfield, MO USA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93XLT4X2 (3:27 LimSlip)
Has anyone had experience with using ceramic pads on the front rotors? I've been using AZ's "Duralast Gold" carbon pads for the last 10 years, but I'm really getting tired of all the black dust on my wheels. I'm gonna be putting on new rotors, so I figured this would be a good opportunity to switch. I was looking at RockAuto's site, lots of choices for pads...RayBestos, Wagner, Akebono. Any opinions about the brands, as well?:usa:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have ceramics on my other truck. Great quality, never had squealing, and yes, a lot less brake dust on the rims.

I don't like the ceramics on my Explodr. I put them on a few years back and 12,000 miles later my rotors were warped (original). I bought new lifetime warrant rotors (made in Canada) from NAPA. Warped two sets of rotors around 10-11,000 miles. I went back to Metallic and have not had this issue since. I also have a 67 Firebird, where I have Ceramics and they are great. I like the stopping power of the ceramics, but I don't think they are made for your stock rotors and the aftermarket is using cheap metal for rotors today. If you go ceramic, make sure you have a good quality rotor. Something that displaces the extra heat created by the ceramics, (slotted or drilled). My .02

I have a 93 Explorer 4x4 and went with Raybestos QS ceramic pads. Using brand new Motorcraft rotors, the ceramics warped my rotors in under 10K miles (vs. semi-metallics where I'd get 40-60K per brake job). I had them turned, replaced the pads (under warranty as one was cracked), and 7K miles later, they are warping again...