Difference between axles?

SeventhAlkali

Reaction score
City, State
Washington
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Explorer Eddie Bauer
Hello!
I was just wondering if there is any difference between a front solid axle and a rear solid axle. Might be a stupid question, but I want to possibly put a solid axle with LSD in the front and a locker in the rear, but I'm kind of new to all of this. I want to research well before I ruin my car. If I were to get another solid axle, how would I move the lsd to the front and put a locker in the back? Are there any brands I should keep an eye out for?

Thank you!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Are you asking if you can put the limited slip out of a 8.8 rear axle into a steering axle? If that's the question, then no. As far as I know, there is no solid front 8.8 steering axle. All of the internals are different for different axles, D44, D60, Ford 9", etc.

You can purchase a limited slips for most common steering axles. I haven't looked into limited slips in a long time, since I am a fan of selectable lockers for steering axles, like ARB or E-Lockers.

Hello! I was just wondering if there is any difference between a front solid axle and a rear solid axle. Might be a stupid question, but I want to possibly put a solid axle with LSD in the front and a locker in the rear, but I'm kind of new to all of this. I want to research well before I ruin my car. If I were to get another solid axle, how would I move the lsd to the front and put a locker in the back? Are there any brands I should keep an eye out for?

Thank you!
@SeventhAlkali