ECM compatibility? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

ECM compatibility?

captcorvette

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Eddie Bauer Explorer
Howdy to all of you from Dubai. Newbie here with a big problem. I have a '98 Eddie Bauer Explorere with the 4.0. Put my scanner on it to see what code was tripping the check engine light. Surprise. No code listed. Bigger surprise? Car was running when I parked it from of my garage door. Shut it off and it has never started again. Scanner won't connect now. I am thinking perhaps a shorted ECM? This one is a DMD1 (Export model car). The number on the ECM is: F87F-12A650-BBB. Cannot find any number like this in the scrap yards.

Question: Is there other compatible ECM's that you can pass along the numbers for me to search? Will this ECM have to be "programmed"? Local Ford agencies will not accept a car over 8 years old. I am the original owner. Remote keys are original and in my hand. Keys are original and also in my hand.

Any guidence? Goes without saying it will be much appreciated.
Capt.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

1) If the CEL is on, there definitely are stored codes. The scanner that you used might not have had the capability to extract them.
2) Before you scrap your PCM, check the appropriate fuses and relays (#5 under the dash for the data link connector and #19 for the PCM power diode. Also, in the power distribution box under the hood, relay #4 and fuse #10 for PCM power).
3) A replacement PCM will need to be reprogrammed if you have PATS (Passive Anti Theft System). 98 was the first year for PATS in US models, but I don't know about exports. If you can't find that information in the owner's manual, you can probably tell by looking at the key: a thick plastic head indicates there is a PATS chip buried in there.