• Register Today It's free!

fuel consumption

nine6sploder

Reaction score
City, State
Dunbar, WV
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 xlt 4x4
OKAY i put this in another thread but i have a god awful fuel consumption problem. I had 2 codes last week a po441 and a po500 i fixed the 500 code replaced rear speed sensor on diff. (btw im an ASE Toyota Tech, not a complete genius about cars but i understand a good bit) anyway, Im in a combined dealership with Ford techs BUT cant seem to get ANY of them to take time out of they're busy day to answer a couple questions soo here we go i have done routine maint. plugs wires fuel filter air filter etc etc.. i changed the speed sensor as stated above the 441 i believe it was, was related to an egr valve position sensor which i have replaced before probably didnt clear the code. I have cleaned both the MAF and IAC... still only getting 200 to a tank to me this seems OFF i should be getting a LITTLe more than that?! suggestion please gas aint cheap in this rigs

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

oh and the list of mods is fairly short. but this problem was back when i was running stock 235's but i have 32/11.50r15's TT and shackles k&n a/f, flowmaster.

well the two codes are gone but i have a p1401 egr flow insuffecient...ordered the sensor gonna replace it monday

So, just what do you consider bad fuel consumption?
What Motor?
What year?
4x4?
Miles on the motor?

Tough for anyone to give yo any input at all.

Might get better info if this wasn't in the OMG I need help immediately 911 forum... ;)

same issue with the truck, wierd thing is it ran alright when we replaced the plugs and wires, I was thinking cat clogging up on mine but idk, some it seems to run alright sometimes just other times its crap and i think its getting like 5 miles to the gallon WtH!