• Register Today It's free!

How do I install a subwoofer?

Ken Hollis

Reaction score
City, State
Waukesha, WI
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer XLT
Hi, I recently just bought a sub and amp off of one of my coworkers and he couldn't find the wiring for it so I have to buy new ones (I bought it for $60 so its whatever). But my question is where would I get the wiring I needed?

Subwoofer - http://www.techronics.com/caraudio_...ries-Truck-Box-Loaded-Subwoofer-TCVT124-.html

Amp - https://www.amazon.com/Visonik-V317SX-800-WATT-Mono-block-Amplifier/dp/B000EQ0QVS

Ignore the pricing and what not as they are discontinued and I bought it from my coworker, but I would really appreciate it if someone could give me some info. This is my first time attempting to set up a subwoofer so I am very new to all of this.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Most people don't add a subwoofer without adding a new head unit with RCA outputs. You can do with with a "line out converter", but it won't give great results. I'd rather go with a cheap head unit, and plug in harness.

I added an aftermarket sub and amp to my OEM non-Mach non-JBL head unit. My last version of my "Budget Bass" project used an AudioControl LC2i converter. Besides the needed high-to-low converter, it converts the OEM 5V remote to a 12V remote, and the main feature is that it compensates for the OEM head unit's bass cutting at higher volumes.

Not a competition winning system, but rather adds the needed bass to a non-sub OEM system.

Most people don't add a subwoofer without adding a new head unit with RCA outputs. You can do with with a "line out converter", but it won't give great results. I'd rather go with a cheap head unit, and plug in harness.