• Register Today It's free!

How To: 4.0 OHV Injector O-Rings

black91EB

Reaction score
City, State
Millington, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT 5spd 4wd
I recently had to replace the injector O-Rings on my '91 Explorer. I could not find a good write up on it, so here is mine. Sorry about the picture quality, if I have the chance I will get better ones.

Note: This is for a non-EGR engine. The EGR equipped OHV is slightly more complicated due to having to disconnect the EGR tube from the upper intake. Also, I am not a professional mechanic, so follow directions at your own risk.

The first step is to remove the air intake tube and the throttle cable assembly from the upper intake. The air intake tube is removed by loosening the 8mm clamp bolts at each end of it. The throttle cable bracket is removed by removing the 2 bolts, one of which is indicated by the arrow. The other is not visible from this angle as it is behind the cables. Both bolts have 8mm heads. Once you remove the bolts, pry the cable off of the throttle body with a flat screwdriver or similiar, it just pops off.
Photo137.jpg

After you have removed the throttle cable, the next step is to unbolt the coil pack bracket so that it can be pushed aside to get the upper intake off. This is accomplished by removing the 2 bolts indicated in the picture, as well as the third one that is located down by the pass. side exhaust manifold. Just follow the bracket down and you will see it. All 3 bolts use a 13mm
Photo139.jpg

After you remove the coil pack, you need to disconnect the throttle position sensor (TPS), the Idle Air Control (IAC), and one other electrical plug on the driver's side of the manifold. (Sorry, haven't gotten a pic yet, will add later) Also, the vaccum tree is at the back of the manifold on the driver's side, and all the lines will either need to be disconnected at the tree, or at their respective accessories, whichever is easier. I will get pictures of these and update as soon as I can.