• Register Today It's free!

I want more HORSES.

tmann91

Reaction score
City, State
Whitakers, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Ford Explorer Sport
Hello. Im new to explorerforum but sometimes visit the posts as they turn up in my google searches. I know very little abt vehicles but im in love with my 2000 Ford Explorer Sport. I want to know of some inexspensive but effective ways to add more horses to my vehicle. The only modification it has is the exhaust. I had an Accelerator Muffler put on and basically ran a Y-pipe to change it from single to dual exhaust (only 1 pipe coming directly from muffler & splits into 2). Also, can someone give me info abt the Accelerator Muffler? Is it any good? Its barely loud & sometimes doesnt seem noticeable to me. Open for any & all advice & thankful for the help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Each HP will cost a bunch, so nothing is really cheap on a per HP basis. Nitrous is the most cost effective hands down. Having said that, you only get power when on the bottle. Air intake is relatively inexpensive but will yield only 7 HP or so. If large gains are your goal, the only reasonable approach is turbo or Supercharger.

theres a guy on the forum that threw a turbo on his sport but i cant remember his name. look up the thread explorer sport pics, he should be on there. intake would be a good way to get an extra 5-7 hp, a fresh set of premium plugs and wires can add a few hp, but to get major gains, there isnt much you can do unless super or turbo charging which cost major bucks and will wear your engine out prematurely.

I wish I could get 7hp from an air intake.

I wish I could get 7hp from an air intake.

i should have prefaced that with "allegedly"! im telling you though, changing out your plugs and wires for some fresh premium ones will def get you some extra ponies.