I'm no mechanic, but... Spark Plug Help | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

I'm no mechanic, but... Spark Plug Help

steventadams

Reaction score
City, State
New Jersey
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Sport
0713071515.jpg

I popped the boot off of the spark plug and thats what was there...
I tried using the socket wrench to take it out but it's in there pretty solidly. I'm no Arnold but I can give the thing a pretty good tug and it doesn't want to move... I want to try to put some WD-40 or something in there to try to loosen it up but I'm a little hesitant seeing as how the spark plug makes sparks and WD-40 is the weapon of choice of the amateur pyro. Any suggestions?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

PB Blaster is your best bet. It runs about $5 for a can at most parts stores.

PB Blaster is definitely the best of the penetrating oils. Not sure it will help much in this case seeing as a spark plug seals when installed properly.

Make sure the motor is completely cooled before you try and take the plugs out. If they've been in for a looonngg time, they may be difficult to break free.

Impact wrench on a spark plug?:eek: Not on one of my vehicles!

i was just using a straight up spark plug socket... i was using a wrench that was about 8 inches long. im just gonna let the car sit overnight and get as cold as its gonna and then try in the morning i think

Pb blaster works great. I changed mine at 100k and they were original. Autozone makes a t-handle sparkplug remover with a swivel joint on it worked good for me... Hope it goes well!!