KKM system, How loud? Worth the $$ ? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

KKM system, How loud? Worth the $$ ?

Sonny

Reaction score
City, State
Tucson, Arizona
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 EB V8 2WD
I see a few of you have the KKM air filter. Does it really roar when under load? And wnen using it without a Cat Back is there any point to having one. I know air in air out is good but is it really worth the $$ over stock?

My Mech. says the 5.0 is setup pretty good as is and spending the money for theses Mods is a waste.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

hey dude, i have a 4.0 and i got the kkm when it was stock and i noticed a little of roar but not much then i got a flowmaster 40 and really didnt notice anything different.

I have a SOHC and I was wondering about the sound that everyone is claiming they hear from it. I never hear it until I floored it one day and there it was!

Your mechanic don't know jack! You should feel the difference more on the 5.0 than the 4.0. Yes, KKM is worth every penny.

very good buy. These KKm's tend to have a break-in period. If you pay attention to your vehicle and the way you drive, it is noticeable. One of the best mods I've done and I am getting one for my girls 98 sport soon.

Originally posted by Sonny
My Mech. says the 5.0 is setup pretty good as is and spending the money for theses Mods is a waste.
He be smokin crack on that statement too.

I have a 4.0L SOHC Explorer and a 5.0L v8 Explorer. They both have the same identical airbox. Sure Ford gave the 5.0L Explorer the GT40P heads, but why did they use the same airbox setup as a 4.0L v6??? And why have the exhaust dual back to the muffler and then single from there?
Believe me, the stock 5.0L is no street racer. It's got great potential for being one, but you have to make a few mods.