Moog Control Arms

Digitalgp

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Hudson valley
Year, Model & Trim Level
‘15 XLT
I will need to replace the driver's side lower control arm soon on my '15 xlt as the large bushing is looking a little ratty. Not making any noise yet, but I'm not liking how that one bushing looks. Passenger side still looks good, but I'd rather replace as a pair. How are the moog arms compared to the oe's? They are less than half the price.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have no experience with Moog parts but judging from posts I have read, the quality of their overall parts isn't great.

Peter

Interesting. I've bought stabilizer links & tie rods from them and have found them to be of good quality. Not sure on the control arms though since the original OE's are made like crap

Moog are chinese low-medium quality parts

Use OEM

If I am understanding which bushing it is, doesn't it bolt on, so "might" be as easy as well as less expensive to just replace the bushing/carrier?

The bushing I'm thinking of is silver colored on the top right of the picture on this product page:

Rock Auto has those bushings alone, even a TRW as a whoesaler closeout for $23 ea.

Since it's the rubber wearing out, I too would prefer OEM over Moog if buying the whole arm.

^ Can the rubber portion just be pressed out and in? I wonder if it's not that simple since all the listings on Rock Auto (if I'm looking at the correct part) include the metal bracket around it, more than doubling the price compared to a rubber-only or standard metal sleeved rubber bushing. It also looks like a unique rubber design for whatever reason...

Is it possible your bushing looks bad because it's an odd looking bushing, not solid on the end(s)?​