Mountaineer grille and lights conversion complete | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Mountaineer grille and lights conversion complete

expo5.0

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Red Wing, MN
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 xlt
its DONE

here's what i did and how it went down-

First off i've been making claims and plan for how to make my 1996 xlt THE best 2nd or 3rd gen. explorer. Obviously i knew i'd have to do something crazy at almost every corner or facet of the vehicle. I also knew the grille and headlights was one of the most visually important parts of the vehicle so i started to try to brainstorm a way to make a statement there. I also desperately wanted to run HID headlamps but didn't think they'd be worth it with the stock lenses.

I thought of tons of things including some crazy ranger swaps as well as trying to use headlights from a chevy.

anyways, i came to the conclusion that the later model mountaineer stuff would be the best and went in search of it. I soon learned that fordpartsnetwork wanted about 1,100 for all the parts i needed not even including the HHID kit.