Need Advice On Gas Gauge Repair

MontanaRon

Reaction score
City, State
Missoula, MT
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Ford Explorer
Hi all.

New old fart joined today. I'm already lost! Don't know if this is posting correctly or not. It's not that I'm not technically savvy, it's that since hitting my head in 2003 it's hard for me to follow directions. Someone please let me know if this posts. But then how would I know if someone replied? Does it go to my email? Help!

Anyway, trying to find out how to fix my gas gauge. I have a 2005 Explorer with 97,000+ miles. Rides great, no major damage and no repairs as of yet. Something tells me I shouldn't have said that! It's red with silver trim and a grey interior. Rides nice and smooth, great for my damaged spine...I feel everything! New set of tires, and the engine has a lot of power that I rarely get to unleash. Might have a transmission problem starting to show but keep your fingers crossed.

My gauge stopped working right when I let my gas drop to a low level and then I filled the truck up. It's not that the gauge isn't working, it is, just not correctly. Like its slow to respond. When I first filled up it showed 1/4 tank. But as I drove, it gradually increased and now reads 3/4 full. It still should read full as I only put about 10 miles on since filing.

I'm not mechanically inclined so I can't drop the tank, I can't open the dash, and I can't get into strange positions due to my spine problems. I've been trying to hit as many bumps and potholes I could. That's how it gradually got better. Only thing I can figure is the float got into some gunk from being extremely low, but would a gas treatment product clean it up?

I'll take any suggestions and hope I've done this correctly. :salute:

Ron K.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hi all.