New Shocks For 97 Explorer 4x4 and Big Bear, Calif | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

New Shocks For 97 Explorer 4x4 and Big Bear, Calif

BrownDogs

Reaction score
City, State
CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Explr 4x4 XLT V6SOHC
I'm new to off-roading (so be kind ;-) and plan to take my 97 4x4 to Big Bear Lake, CA soon.

I intend to replace the stock shocks with Bilstein's. The guy at the shop mentioned axle wrap and said the Exlplorers have a 5th shock to handle axle wrap. He suggest I replace all 5 shocks. Is this correct?

Any advice for novice off-road trails in Big Bear area? I've got a Sidekick Off-Road map and the Delormes map book.

Looks like the road 2N13 from Fawnskin to Green Valley would be nice. How long would that trip take altogether? Is it fairly easy? Maybe too easy? I'm not looking to go on a really rough ride this time. Or the east side near Baldwin Lake (3N16) that goes up to the old abandoned mines looks good.

What does it mean in the Sidekick Off-Road map when it says a road is "Trail Guide" highlighted in yellow?

Any advice on shocks, trails, etc... are welcome.

Thanks,

-Mark

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

How bad do you need shocks? I ask because you are about to get hooked on wheeling, and you'll soon be wanting a lift, at which point your Bilsteins will need to be replaced with longer ones.
That's what happened to me anyways.

I've never seen one of those 5th shocks, but from reading other posts, just take it off. Or,if you keep it on, no need to upgrade it.

For trail maps, you have two good ones. I also suggest finding a book called 4Wheelers Guide to the San Bernadino Mtns, or something close to that. My copy is at work, so I can't check it.