Pinging on Hills | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Pinging on Hills

I could be way out of bounds here, being as my mounty is a bit newer. Is this vehicle waste spark? If so, it would spec double platinum plugs right?

Not that it has anything to do with the pinging, just wanted to bring it up.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I could be way out of bounds here, being as my mounty is a bit newer. Is this vehicle waste spark? If so, it would spec double platinum plugs right?

Not that it has anything to do with the pinging, just wanted to bring it up.

Ya, I read somewhere else that these are supposed to have double plats. I've been running single plats for 10 years w/o issue, but it was cheap enough to give the doubles a shot so I did. No joy, though. :( Thanks for the suggestion, though!

You've probably run enough Techron (and other things) through already. There is a limit to how much those products will do. If there is a lot of carbon buildup, there may be a more effective cleaning system at a mechanic near you ... but you may not find it worth the cost to try it.

Have you reset the PCM (pulled the power) since the other repairs? I guess you said you ran up some miles at least -- enough to re-adjust the trims. (I'm thinking about whether the other issues may have messed up the mixture or timing.) I wonder what the knock sensor is doing during all this? I'm assuming this happens before you get to full WOT.

You are sure it is pinging right, and not something else? It probably is, but...