R-12 Refrigerant swap? | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

R-12 Refrigerant swap?

My bet is your orifice tube is gunked up.

I agree, although I'm far from an expert. The Sport Trac I now have is the first vehicle I've owned in years that the A/C works in. I'm certain that was the problem with the A/C in the '89 Bronco II I used to have, and my '94 Explorer too. Both showed proper pressures, but only put out warm air. I changed the orifice tube in the '77 LTD II wagon we once had and that fixed it. The wagon was easy, as the orifice tube was in the line right up by the battery. I've never been sure where it is on the Explorers- or how to get to it if it's where I think it is.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Many thanks to all who've replied, I will check all the stuff that has been mentioned.

the orifice I changed a couple weeks ago on my 91 Ex was a little rough to get to ... its on the passengers side ... I had to remove the air box ... and then I could see the silver lines coming from under the box ... about as big around as a quarter ... I am thinking the joint took a 19mm and a 21mm to break ... as soon as it comes apart you will see the end of the orifice sticking out ... they make a special tool for removal, but my needle noses worked fine ... i pulled the old one out & was horrified ... looked like it was dipped in mud,then oil ... anyways i put a small dab of grease around the new ones o ring & it slid right in by hand ... make sure you put the new one in the same way the old one came out ... anyways I have ice cold AC now and it only took about 40 mins to do ... they say you can take the fender well out and the tire off and get to it that way, but I got mine ok by the air box entry ... hope this helps !!