• Register Today It's free!

Rebuilding your own transmission?

Vanquish502

Reaction score
City, State
Kitchener, Ontario
Year, Model & Trim Level
91EB, 91EB, 92XLT
K. My reverse gear finally cacked. Have to rev it to 5000 RPM before it barely even budges, so moneys on the band is screwed. i'm going to try out the extension pin, but that only buys a small amount of time.

Being how a rebuild is $1500-$2500, and I also don't like other people working on the truck, I'd like to do this myself/someone helping me.

First: It's not going to be possible is it? I have no experience with automatic transmissions, and very little with standards. Although Glacier's diary is quite amazing for being on the internet, I still don't feel confident of it being enough to help me.

All I want to do is change the revese band and maybe little parts here and there that NEED replacing. If it 100% doesn't need replacing, I wouldnt.

I understand the transmission has to come completely apart to change the band. Theres absolutely no way around that? Like dropping the valve body and squeezing it in somehow around the drum?

Also, I know you need specialty tools for something like this, but Glacier put way too much time into his diary and I just don't like reading. Reading through all of that to find the tools needed is crazy.

Anyway the main point is, its not really possible for me to rebuild this myself is it? If it's not a hard job (the actualy rebuild, not removal and installation) I'd be willing to try it. But I've seen pics and theres like 2 million parts. I also dont want to get the entire thing apart then have no idea how to put it back together.

Any info is great, just need to the truck to work.

Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Yes, hes got a list of tools.