• Register Today It's free!

Remote Starter for '03 XLT

05kAwBoy700

Reaction score
City, State
South East, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
'03 XLT 4wd 4.0
The wife wants a remote starter for Christmas, and I am not sure which one to get. I like to do a lot of things myself, but I'm a little unsure when it comes to this. I did a little searching on here but couldn't find anything more recent than 2007.

I do not have two keys, or the factory keyless entry fob's. (the joys of buying a used vehicle.) I am not concerned with an aftermarket alarm system. The vehicle stays within 30 feet from my house and the wife would like a way to start the vehicle without going outside. Tremendous range would not be a major concern.

I will admit, I am cheap, but I dont want to buy junk. I have no experience with car starters but I can wire in electric fans and off-road lights with ease. Hell, I've replaced the transmission on my Expedition three times. Its just something about messing with the starter that makes me nervous. I dont want to have my wife stranded because her truck wont start.

My questions are: Which remote starter would be the best for the money?

Can I just have two more keys made and ""conveniently" hide the PATS key in the vehicle?

Thanks!
-Robert

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

A bypass will cost about the same as the key you plan on hiding, and will be safer, also, not all insurance companys are happy about you leaving a key in the vehicle, a guy I know had to take it off and change to a bypass module as his insurance company does not reimburse for theft if you leave the keys inside.
I have a Code Alarm and it works as it should, nothing fancy, not crap either, but let's wait for other replies, as the expert is my friend, not me, I just give him beer to instal stuff on my truck :D