• Register Today It's free!

shocks???

Cynthia'in'SD

Reaction score
City, State
San Diego, California
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 4x4 Sport
Ok I was thinking of getting pro comp es9000's. Are they for a lifted vehicle, also are they really rough? Some off road driving, do not want really stiff shocks. Are gabriel vst's better? Would go with bilstein or OME if I wanted to spend over $200, but do not want to spend that kind of $$$. If I get the extension for the gabriels how much travel will I have and how much travel will the pro comps give me? Thanks
Cynthia

I am really happy with the 9000s I just put on my '94, but I am no car expert and these are the first 'premium' type shocks I have ever used, so I can't compare them to anything else but stock. I don't think they are at all too stiff for highway driving. My wife drives the Explorer more than I do, and she says they ride better. They do make them for lifted applications look here http://www.explorerprocomp.com/shockapps.htm
These shocks do not come with poly bushings, though, as do some of the other big names.

Good luck!

Don't get RS9000's, consider Gabriel VST's

I have RS9000's on my 97 Ranger, and they're perfect for a pickup. When I carry something heavy in back, I crank them up. Excellent stability and control.

HOWEVER - it rides like a truck. I have no idea what the ES9000's are, but for that price, they are not a "premium" shock. See the pricing on the Monroe's below.

My wife's 98 Explorer blew the factory (very crummy) shocks at 26K. I put on $38/ea Monroe SensaTracs. They lasted about 40K, probably should have replaced them at 35K.

They improved the right somewhat, and totally eliminated the side-to-side roll the factory shocks allowed. Big improvement. However, they are street shocks and were not up to the abuse of all the offroading we do.