Silverstar problems | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Silverstar problems

Does anyone else have the silverstars burn out frequently. My fogs go out way too often. I might get 5 months out of a bulb. I do drive with them on a lot, but still, my parking lights and tail lights last forever. is there abetter bulb thats similar to silverstars?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Maybe try EuroDesignz? I have had a set in my fogs for over a year with no problems. I have been using EuroDesignz for a few years now. I always have an extra set, they have a lifetime warranty (I think its $6 replacement cost) so when they burn out, I send back the bad bulbs and use my other set until my replacements come. Only had to do it once in 3 years though.

I've run Silverstars in three of my cars for two years. One set burned out in my roadster after six months. The other two sets, including my Ex using 9007s, are still shining. My son used a brand named Eurolites and they burned out after a couple of weeks. I believe it's all in how they are installed. Grease and oil are a bulb's enemy. I use latex gloves and lint-free rags to handle and install them. I'm careful not to let the glass bulbs touch anything during installation.
My son used bare hands and you know about his results. We pulled his bulbs out and the glass was warped as though it has been melted. Obviously, grease or oil had gotten onto the glass and caused temperatures hot enough to blow the bulb.
I also called Sylvania about the set that did burn out, "prematurely". They did say that the bulbs are tweaked to get higher output so that bulb life will probably decrease. They also recommended that I change the bulbs once a year. I'm still trying to decide on the latter recommendation.