Single mom looking for advice on 1994 Ford Transmission | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Single mom looking for advice on 1994 Ford Transmission

Vivian0709

Reaction score
City, State
Hobart, OK
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 4X4
I am a recently single mom and my ex husband was the mechanic in the house and since we are no longer together, this looked like a good place to start.

I have a 1994 Ford Explorer and it apparently seems to leak transmission fluid into the oil. I can add two quarts of transmission fluid and within a few days the transmission dipstick reads empty and my transmission starts to slip, however, my oil dipstick reads overfull and I haven't added a drop of oil.

How is this possible? Someone mentioned to me about a valve that connects the two lines - I am not a mechanic by any means so I really need some advice on this, if possible.

Thanks and hope to hear from someone.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

...welcome here...we have a few really good tranny guys that could answer your questions...don't get discouraged if they don't answer right away....they are on and off during work...;)

Welcome luv from England....:)

Welcome to the forum.

I might be way off base, but this seems like a leaking vacuum modulator--

From what I understand, it is easily replaceable.
In any event, it will give you something to search for, you might find an answer-

Thank you for your help. I do appreciate all the advice I can get since I know nothing about cars. However, I will start by looking at the vacuum modulator. Thank you all for the welcome too. :D

I will continue to check to see if there is anymore advice...Have a great day!!