Theft light - possible PATS problem? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Theft light - possible PATS problem?

Xplorer82

Reaction score
City, State
TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'05 Mountaineer 4.6L
ok, i bought my 98 eddie bauer for $850 at the end of 2/2012 due to timing chain rattle(runs and drives good tho, so far). since i bought the truck i have had a flashing theft light..

i have done some reading/searching but due to all the post about pats/theft light and finding none regarding my issue and reading for hours, i am posting in hopes to track this down..

i am including a video of what is going on... basically unless the key is turned to the acc/or started the light will flash. it is a slow steady flash, as if the alarm is set (going by what my 97 looks like when i set the alarm)..

i am hoping that someone can help me out w/this because i do not want to end up stranded like others have been due to PATS issues.. i am new to this PATS stuff so if you need any other info i will help out as much as i can seeing how this truck is still newer to me and i do not know much of the background on it. i only received one key with the truck and No key fob, i use the door key pad when i need to get in the truck.

thanks to anyone that takes time to help me track this down.

(click to watch video)
th_photobucket-1643-1334209460877.jpg

ok, well i found a thread in the "under the hood" section about the PATS system.. it reads
PATS also "flashes" the theft indicator every two seconds at ignition OFF to act as a visual theft deterrent.

i counted the seconds in the video between the flashes and it seems as if that is what is going on.. i just found it odd to be flashing when the alarm was not set as my 97 does not do that until you "set the alarm".. i know they have 2 different "security systems" as it changed in 98, i was just worried about getting stranded somewhere due to a fault in the pats system..