Towing for dummies and alternatives to Uhaul trailers? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Towing for dummies and alternatives to Uhaul trailers?

Hi everyone! Just bought a 2011 Explorer XLT 4WD with the tow package.

We're moving from Houston to Boston and want to use a small 4x8 or 5x8 enclosed cargo trailer to help (we're military so we have professional movers pack up most everything, but we are carrying our own firearms, paperwork, valuables).

Apparently Uhaul doesn't rent to you if you have an Explorer, so they're out.

Here's what I need to know

1) Anyone able to list alternatives to rent a trailer I would need? It really doesn't need to be anything big, but I need to be able to have it enclosed and the ability to lock it. I checked Craigslist and a lot of trailers are going for 1200+ which is just more than I'm able to spend at the moment.

2) What do I need to buy? Explain this to me as a complete newbie because this is the first time I'll be towing anything! I know I need a trailer ball, and probably some kind of wiring, but other than that, I'm completely lost.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Uhaul has lifted the ban on the 2011 and newer explorers so you should be OK.

See my recent post with Ford Towing Guides in the Towing section (from March 13th). For some reason the Moderator(s) don't see the value in making that a Sticky. After you read thru the 2011 Towing Guide, watching for everything related to your Explorer, let us know what you still need to know.

See my recent post with Ford Towing Guides in the Towing section (from March 13th). For some reason the Moderator(s) don't see the value in making that a Sticky. After you read thru the 2011 Towing Guide, watching for everything related to your Explorer, let us know what you still need to know.