Trans/clutch or transfer case failure? | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Trans/clutch or transfer case failure?

UPDATE! 3rd gear is thrashed. Have ordered a rebuild kit and 3rd gear. It'll be back on the road soon.

hope you did not mean use existing used TO bearing and slave cyl. from the old trans/clutch only like 50 bucks for new parts SAME NUMBERS but a remove replace trans and transfer when the part fails in 20k. stupid move of ford/mazda to put slave and to bearing together inside

ALWAYS use a new LUK slave and matching master..... if I go through the trouble of dropping the 5 speed I would never re install the slave and TO bearing.......You know me better then that!

Also I bleed the entire hydraulic system outside of the truck before installing it
Ive been doing clutches in these rigs since 1996 or so.......

Finally decided to get around to updating on this issue....1994 Sport 4x4 5 speed 288xxx miles. Turned out that third gear was missing two teeth on the gear and three on the counter shaft. I ordered a bearing and gasket kit along with a third gear and countershaft from Midwest Transmission Center in Minnesota, (they were excellent in all regards btw).

Stupid me should have been paying attention and counted the teeth on the gears... Turns out that my 4.0 M5OD has 2.5/3.0 gears in it. Apparently you can swap in the shorter 1-2-3 and countershaft from the 2.5/3.0 for more low end squirt. This explains why this Explorer has felt so much peppier than my last one! Fourth and fifth remain the same, allowing you to get the effect of a rear end gear swap without losing that efficient highway gear.