Troubles With Auto Locking Hubs!

krownkmk

Reaction score
City, State
Rochester, MN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 XLT
Ok, so here's the story...

I am new to the 4x4 Industry, 1st 4x4 is my 1994 Ford Explorer XLT. I turned on the 4 wheel drive and proceeded to go through some mud, while going through I saw that the front wheels weren't spinning, only the rears. I brought the truck back to my house and jacked up all four wheels to see if the front would spin. The didn't spin in 4x4 or Low Range. So I looked under neath to see that a bolt was missing on the vacum line. First question, are they air lines or liquid lines? Next question, I have a new bolt... before I install it, what do I need to do. And Third question, will this cause both wheels to stop spinning (I'm quessing both lines run off the same vacum?)

Please respond ASAP as I wish to get my 4 wheel drive fixed so I can have some more fun!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Not sure what vac line or bolt to which you are referring; vac lines don't hold liquid I can tell you that much. :)

Front wheels not turning in 4x4? Could be transfer case shift motor (common problem). Could be blown up auto hubs. I'd take apart the hubs and see if anything is out-of-place or broken in there. The plastic cams tend to break or wear in the auto hubs. Also inspect the axleshafts and make sure you didn't break a u-joint up there. That will stop your front wheels very quickly.

First of all, narrow it down a little further:

"I brought the truck back to my house and jacked up all four wheels to see if the front would spin."