• Register Today It's free!

V8 Conversion to Eddie Bauer

TJPaul

Reaction score
City, State
Tijuana, Baja, Mexico
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 Eddie Bauer
Hi, im new on this forum, and this is the first 4x4 i have, usually i was around road racers, so bear with me on this, i have little knowledge about this topic, the question i have is, since i live in mexico, and i dont need the EFI, can i drop a v8 Carbureted 5.0 engine on a 91 Eddie Bauer?, what kind of trans does it has, i have an AOD from a Lincoln, is it really difficult to adapt it and still reatin the 4x4?, the engine is shot on the Explorer, so i need a new one anyway, are the trans from the Explorer and the AOD, the same, do they interchange?, my engine has a pair of GT-40 Heads, Performer RPM Intake, Holley Carb, FRPP E303 Cam, is it too much for the Explorer?, should i just stay with a rebuild 4.0? i know that there are too many questions, hope to find a solution for this. AND IF NOT, can i MAKE IT A 2WD? i dont really use the 4x4 much, so i just wish to have it with the v8, if not, is it really difficult to install the 302/aod swap?

Thanks Again

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

transmissions do not interchange, not even close

Yes you can put a carbed 5.0L and AOD in there.
Yyes you can convert it to 2wd but you will need to rip out the front TTB axle
to me this is a waste, you are better off starting with a 2wd truck.

You need to do a search, you are about the 6,700 person to ask these questions.
The 5.0L conversion into rangers and Explorer's has been done in every possible way!

Good luck!