• Register Today It's free!

Where to begin?

SUV46

Reaction score
City, State
Columbus, OH
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 Explorer Sport
OK, so I'm new to the Explorer thing and I've learned a lot from this forum already. Got a 95 Sport Expedition package a few months ago...the price was right! And it's got everything...grey leather/6 disc changer/power sun roof/power windows and doors/keyless entry/auto lights and rear view mirror. Already has 265-75-16's (no namers...getting BFG AT KO's for wedding present) K&N, 150K with engine rebuilt 40K ago, auto trans.

It will be a daily driver, with family sedan used to haul the family around (imagine that) but I would like to be able to hit the trails on the weekend and raise some eybrows from my friends with the J@@P's. I have been sitting back and reading/searching the posts so I didn't ask anything that's been asked many times before (GJarret's EVO post was great) but here goes...first some things that I've learned and then on to the questions:

1. Exibiting signs a dirty MAF (rough idle on hot start/check engine light after 10 mins of running) Learned how to fix from here...thnx

2. Doesn't want to shift into 4L...tried the tap with a mallet trick...shifted once, now won't shift into 4A or 4L....time to rebuild the shift motor (again, learned from here)

3. Rear Sag - Guess I'll try to level it by taking some out of the pass side torsion bar. (ditto)

4. Various dead dash lights. Probably live with them for the time being.

5. No Fogs - Light comes on on the switch but they don't work....haven't troubleshot them yet, but I'll start with a test light on the lights themselves, then move to the relay (under the airbox, right?) next...hopefully that will be all.

6. O/D won't switch on or off, unless I take the button out and put it back in...works for a little while then nothing again...new button should cure.

7. D4 code axles - 3.73 LS, right?

Now time for the questions!