Yellow Fog Lights? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Yellow Fog Lights?

I've noticed most after market fog likes usually have a yellow tint to them of somesort. Would it be worth putting a yellow film over my stock fog lights? Or does it make no difference, a friend was telling me yellow lights help more than your standard lights in fog, is there any truth to this?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The only reason I have known yellow fogs to help is in snow. Supposedly they make snow visibility better. I have no personal experience with them, so I cannot say for sure.

No need...

You don't need film... If you want to swap out the bulbs for yellows, you can do that. Anybody that has every driven in th Bay Area or through Central/Northern CA during fog can tell you that it doesn't matter the color, it's the intensity that helps - however, you are limited to about 42-45 watts or you could cause melting and possibly fire in the stock area...

You could add fog lights to the vehicle, and leave the stock stock... I have a set of yellow stocks and white stocks... you never know when you might need them :D

I have yellow fogs with a bit higher wattage than stock. I feel they are brighter in inclement weather, but it's hard to tell with my HID's pretty much sending out daylight.

I do a lot of driving in snow and foggy conditions and have yellowish lights for this .
They came with 50w which I recently changed to 100w and find that they work well .
I think it's as much the beam (flat and wide ) as the colour that makes a difference

External lights...

I do a lot of driving in snow and foggy conditions and have yellowish lights for this .
They came with 50w which I recently changed to 100w and find that they work well .