5th gen Explorer issues stopping on ice | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

5th gen Explorer issues stopping on ice

Preacherman

Reaction score
City, State
Vilas NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Explorer XLT
I’m sure this is probably covered elsewhere but I didn’t see my exact issue so here goes. We just got our 2013 Explorer a few weeks back. I’m completely new to the intelligent 4wd system. We live on a steep curvey drive. We have had a fair amount of light snows that turn to ice quickly overnight once it’s been driven on. I’m having trouble going down the drive. The car (especially the rear end) want to slide way to much. I’ve tried normal and snow modes and various ways of braking...no change. I have a 2006 f350 4wd that has no issues on the same drive. Maybe there’s something I could do differently??

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Change the tires.. 4wd and/or awd isnt going to do much on ice, especially down hill. Tires are pretty much all you can do to attempt to even grip on ice.

4wd/awd helps in starting off from a dead stop and helping to power out of slippery conditions, does nothing for down hills when you are not applying power (acceleration).

As blwnsmoke posted, put dedicated Winter tires on it for a start. I always do a changeover every year around the end of October and then again in April. Even then, it isn't a guaranty it will solve this issue if it is ice. You could try Sand mode and see if that helps. I believe Sand mode is as close to full 4WD as you can get. Just don't use it for regular driving in snow. Are you backing down the driveway?

Peter