I have a problem with my explorer starting. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

I have a problem with my explorer starting.

turpen13

Reaction score
City, State
Bridgeport, Illinois
Year, Model & Trim Level
'91 XLT
ok here is the deal, im new at all of this, im only 20 and dont have anyone to show me anything and just starting working on trucks 3 weeks ago. so im learning everthing as i go, but there is one thing i cant figure out, when i go to start my explorer i have to turn the key on and then back off 4 times and then start it, other wise it wont do anything. what would cause this. fuel pump? any help would be great. i just fixed the 4 wheel drive, lifted it, and made new bumpers, and now this problem started.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

So you are saying you have to turn the key to start 4 times before the starter will crank?

Or

You turn the key 4 times to ON to prime the fuel pump, then it will finally crank and start?

battery cables, power cables to the starter, weak battery

Fuel pump fuse and relay, wiring to it, fuel pump

I would test battery
I would test fuel pressure

91 wiring is getting old, and lifting the truck can move wires around, stretch them out, your battery cables wear out.

First tell us why you have to turn the key 4 times and how you figured this out.

If you mean it won't crank over until you try it 4 times then You need to answer this:

Does this only do this for the first time on a cold morning, and then it starts fine for the rest of the day? - if yes, then likely the starter needs replaced.

depending on what you mean;

IF IT WONT CRANK FOR 4 TIMES - You most likley have a bad ground or solenoid.

IF IT WONT START BUT WILL CRANK - You may have a leaking fuel injector, or possibly a bad fuel pump.