What is this called? Tie Rod Connector? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What is this called? Tie Rod Connector?

jpoprock

Reaction score
City, State
Kokomo, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Explorer Limited
I went to change the front brakes and rotors on my 2002 Explorer Limited and noticed a part was broken. I'm not a mechanic, so I really don't know what this part is called. It looks like it might be an easy fix, and probably torqued on.. but I don't know what it's called so I can order the replacement:

TieRodConnector.jpg

Thanks!
Jason

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Thanks guys. That's a relief. I know for sure that my Left front hub is shot, and I'm going to have someone repair it for me. I could do it, but Ive heard they can sometimes be problematic. It's been roaring a little for a while now.

Are front shocks a big deal to change out? I'm hoping it's a matter of unbolting the old and putting in the new. (nice catch Esclamada!)

Jason

Thanks guys. That's a relief. I know for sure that my Left front hub is shot, and I'm going to have someone repair it for me. I could do it, but Ive heard they can sometimes be problematic. It's been roaring a little for a while now.
Are front shocks a big deal to change out? I'm hoping it's a matter of unbolting the old and putting in the new. (nice catch Esclamada!)

Jason

This is my hub bearing torn apart. It was also roaring for a couple thousand miles. We got caught with it starting to make noise while 2000 miles from home. I drove it back home, by then the noise was pretty insistent. Much farther, and the bearing would have crumbled, and then.....well, almost any really bad thing could happen! Don't leave it go too long! imp

wheel_10.jpg