Brake replacement: Do it yourself or at the dealer? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Brake replacement: Do it yourself or at the dealer?

droorda

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2012 Ford Explorer XLT
I'm fairly handy when it comes to cars, so just wanted to take a poll since i'm new to owning an explorer. Do you all recommend getting it done at the dealership or handling it yourselves? I saw a 179.99 per axle brake deal on my dealer website (new pads/rotors) but that seems awfully high. Any insight here would be greatly appreciated before i pull the trigger one way or another.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

$179.99/axle is robbery...do it yourself.

$179.99 will BRAKE your bank.

Why is that expensive a set of good pads must run. 50 each rotor has to be 50 each then labor bleed greese bearings and adjust plus give you a warrenty. So how much you really saving $50-75. What's your time worth for a 2 hour job in your driveway in 100 temps.
Just my 2 cents

Agreed the price is high. It is not always necessary to replace the rotors and if they have enough material you can get them turned for about $12 each. A good set of pads are no more than $40. Unless the calipers are being replaced the brakes do not have to be bled and there are no bearings to grease, they are sealed. A good set of pads are no more than $40. I would also just about guarantee that the dealer will say the calipers need to be replaced. Bottom line without calipers the parts are maybe $75 so $100 is labor.

I thought they need to remove rotors to cut them. It's been 25 years since my bk job. Then the bearing get repacked since your doing a bk job it's time to repack. I saw hp pads around $75.00 so if you have an awd and tow you would not want a manny moe & jack special.