1996 explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1996 explorer

1. C

Dumb teenager question

So I have a 1996 Ford Explorer xlt 2wd and I wanna lift it pretty high for cheap and maybe fab some stuff just listen to my idea for the front so 3” torsion keys halfway up with a half inch metal plate sitting above it also 4” lifted spindles once the spindles are in I’m gonna have bad angles...
  2. Z

Ford Explorer Issues

Hi, this is my first time posting to a car forum, sorry if I sound ignorant about cars or anything. I recently started having issues with my ford explorer, it is a 4.0L V6 4WD 1996 Ford Explorer. It started when I took my car home for the holidays, the transmission was slipping a little bit...
  3. D

Fuel leak - 96 Explorer Sport

Hello, I recently started noticing a fuel leak in my 96 Explorer Sport, which is constant when I'm driving, and stops when the car is turned off. Got the official warning when I took it in for an oil change last week; the tech noticed and alerted me quickly, and that it is dangerous to drive...
  4. J

'96 Won't Start After Warming Up

Hello Everyone, I have an annoying issue I'm hoping someone can help me with. My 1996 Explorer XLT decides it doesn't want to start after being driven for 30 mins or more. Now this problem only lasts till it cools down say 20 mins or so. But if I drive it a ways, shut it off, then immediately...
  5. I

1996 Explorer EGR Valve repair

Hello! So I've had a longstanding engine warning light stuck on my dash for awhile that will, every so now and then, turn off for a little bit but eventually turn back on again. One of my friends has a spare ODBII reader so I borrowed that from him to check it out. I believe it read P0401...
  6. 7

96 explorer horn stuck