to SAS or stay IFS?

PUR PONY

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
CT
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 LTD, 96 XLT, & 98 XLT
looking to build a Gen 2 trail rig. I know there will be many options and its probably been asked time and time again.....but i cant decide if i want to SAS or stay IFS.

I guess my main concern is how much beating can the Gen 2 IFS/ axles take? In all honesty i am new to offroading but just want something that can keep up with others i plan to go with. Most being IFS as well (Toyotas and Newer Jeeps like the GC's).

Do i stick with the IFS and go superlift/rough country with coil overs, or do i invest the time in a SAS?

Im thinking staying IFS but just wanted to get some feedback.

Main goals - capable offroad that has decent highway manners. I live in the unconstitutional state of CT so anywhere i wheel i need to travel. Being up north in New England or somewhere south. Id also like to make a few NC beach trips-

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Ifs will do all you will need. Haven't even broken a CV axle in my ranger on 35s and I go hard on it.

20191212_111527.jpg

thats kind of what i was thinking. I was just looking at the IFS flexing pics and was admiring your ranger!!!!

Do you want to keep up with them, or get them stuck following you??
Just saying
IMG_20150415_105204366_HDR.jpg

IMG_20151228_144412926.jpg

I'd stick with IFS unless you are going for difficult trails and the toughest lines.

Depends on your expected use. Mild or wild off road use? Trailer queen or self reliance? How long do plan on having the rig after the mods? Modifying these rigs is done out of hobby, as they do not hold value, nor can you recoop money invested in them in most of the country. Keep that in mind as you plan/invest/build.