2002 V8 running badly | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2002 V8 running badly

alpha141

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 XLT 4x4 Explorer 4.6
Hi Guys,

Im new to the explorers and this one has been giving me a few headaches.... started running rough a short time after I got it, error codes were miss fire cyl 8 and random miss fire.

I have changed all the spark plugs, the coil on cyl 8 was failing so that got replaced as well. ran really good for a couple of days then started to miss fire again, cyl 5 this time. I changed that coil but it is getting worse but no error codes anymore. The miss fire is really bad under load. There is also a new problem thats just started too, driving along an the dash will do a warning beep every so often, at night I could see a VERY quick flash of the charge light, also when the engine is has been idling for a couple of minutes it will sometimes just completely cut out, also a new problem.
I am sure there has to be a common cause, but buggered if I know... any help would be greatly appreciated.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

OK here is where I am up to... I have checked for vacuum leaks, there is none. The elbow next to the idle speed control valve is fine. Have also checked manifold vacuum when engine is running and it is rock solid (cant remember what the value was tho).

I have blanked off the EGR so no exhaust can flow into the manifold in case the EGR system is faulty. I havn't been able to take it for a drive just yet to see how it drives. It is idling nicely however it still will idle for a while (5 minutes or so) then just suddenly cut out and still no fault codes.

I really want to know what will cause the engine to just cut out like that.

thanks.