bigred4x4

Off-road enthusiast
Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
chesapeake virginia
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 xlt 4x4
I just figured since there was a 5.0 thread just started I'd get a 4.0 going as well.

Would like some suggestions for small power bolt on mods that are still available I have a flow master exhaust and that's it performance wise. any body know of some small upgrade parts or mods to improve power? Like chips, tuners, throttle bodies.....etc that's worth the price? I wish I would of done a cam and valves, lifters rods,springs, injectors etc.... When I had it out for the rebuild but didn't have the funds.

Please don't tell me to swap in a V8 lol I know there awesome but that's not happening any time soon I'll probably be solid axle swapped before then.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Please don't tell me to swap in a V8 lol I know there awesome but that's not happening any time soon I'll probably be solid axle swapped before then.

You should have got a V8, ..., oh well, you already covered that.

The under drive balancer and a 70mm TB are the easiest two items I think of for the 4.0's. After those, the choices are few because the aftermarket doesn't do much for the 4.0 engines. A VB kit would be smart for the trans, those are a weak link. I'd do those and then a dual exhaust, two mufflers and tail pipes(I know I mention it for all 302's, the 4.0 is big enough that it needs it also(especially the 4.0 SOHC(turns 6000rpm))). 2.5" pipes and cats etc, dual all the way back, that should lean the A/F ratio enough to require new tuning for the PCM.