5.5" Super or 4" Tuff

sn0border88

Master Apprentice
Reaction score
City, State
Souderton, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 XLT
Im torn right now between a 5.5" super and a 4" tuff country. Money is the key issue here, and i know the 4 is cheaper by a good deal, however i dont mind paying more for the 5.5 if it will be that much better, and install smoother. What do you guys think, and advice would be great. Also, my uncle is a fabricator/metal worker/mechanic so he can do most of the work for me for very little cash. One last question, im fairly new to wheelin, but what the heck does SOA mean, everyone talks about an SOA lift or something like that.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

From what I've heard the order of the lifts for 1st gens as far as strength goes is: Skyjacker, Superlift, and then Rough Coutry and Tuff Country. If you plan on doing any "hardcore" wheeling, get your hands on a Skyjacker class II lift. If not, I'd personally go with the Superlift kit. I've seen many bent/broke brackets for all of the TTB lift kits, but more for the Tuff and Rough Country lifts.

SOA means spring over axle. It's where you convert the leaf springs to go over the rear axle for 5"+ of lift.

You'll actually save money if you go with the Superlift basic kit, since you won't be getting new rear springs.

^^^Plus, you'll have an additional 1.5" of lift (obviously) but you'll also have about 4+ inches of clearance in the rear with the SOA setup instead of the SUA. :thumbsup:

thanks guys, awsome advice. right now im looking at the superlift kit from tyres (www.tyres1.com) for 680.00, it says shocks and pitman arm included, but this price is lower than most places charge for the kit w/o shocks and arm? Am i reading this right?