$512 for radiator replacement? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

$512 for radiator replacement?

Tman1000

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Explorer XLT
Took my 98 to the shop yesterday, it has 240k on it. It was leaking coolant really badly. They called back today and said it needed a new radiator and it would cost $512. Now im no expert but that seems a little high if I can find the radiator on Rock Auto for 100 bucks. Has anyone replaced their radiator? is it hard? And/or if you got it replaced, how much did it cost you?

Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If you have a V6, changing the radiator is very easy to do. I recently did one on a V6 Explorer, it probably took me about 15-20 minutes to remove the old radiator and put the new one in its place (not counting the time to drain/refill the radiator). I bought a replacement radiator on-line for around $100-$120 including free shipping.

If you have a V8, it's a much bigger job because of the way the A/C condenser is mounted to the radiator. I've changed several V8 radiators and hope to never change another one. Total PITA.

You didn't say what engine you have. If it's the V8, I totally agree with koda, because separating the radiator from the AC condenser is a major hassle, turning a 10-minute job into an hour or more of bruised knuckles and cursing. An alternative and much easier way to do this is to remove the AC condenser along with the radiator, without the separation hassle. This will add about $100-$150 for evacuating and recharging the AC system. So one way or another the V8 job is probably around $150 extra, compared to V6 engines. The other variable is the radiator itself. It you went to a dealer, they will probably install Motorcraft, which sells for around $350.