• Register Today It's free!

Abs

Jojo919

Reaction score
City, State
NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
03 Ford Explorer XLT 4.6
Hi I am new on here but I desperately need help! So I have a 2003 Ford explore 4.6 four-door XLT my brakes are giving me problems recently I started experiencing no pressure on my brake pedal it has pressure but if I press it too hard then it just vibrates a little bit and sinks to the ground my question is how do I find out if I have a bad master cylinder or if it’s my ABS system my ABS light stays on it will pop off occasionally but lately comes right back on I have no leaks that I can find I do hear a vacuum leak at least I think it’s a leak and as soon as I engage the brake pedal then that suction I hear stops. I don’t know if that’s even an issue with what’s going on can somebody please help me determine what my problem is here before I ruined something thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

First I'd make sure your brake fluid reservoir isn't near empty, though it is normal for it to drop fluid level some over brake pad service life, as the brake pads wear and the caliper pistons are extended further. This is just to leave no stone unturned and make sure you're not risking brake failure.

The ABS light is a very strong hint, that your ABS module, or more likely your ABS speed sensors (or wiring) is failing. A scan tool capable of reading Ford-specific codes (not "just" OBD2 codes) is what to do next, or a scan tool capable of live data to see the ABS speed sensors' values when the event occurs.