Another HVAC problem...

fixinMyInLawsCar

Reaction score
City, State
Maryland
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 Explorer
Hello All,

TLDR: Poor face vent airflow, broken plastic arm looking for solutions.

I'll start by saying this is my first post on this forum. I am trying to help my in-laws fix a few small problems with the Ford while I am here on vacation. I'm a BMW guy by nature and no stranger to auto repair, but I am not a professional mechanic.

I have done a lot of searching and I think there are a couple of problems that are getting confused here. I need help figuring out the best way to fix one of them.

Problem #1: Click of death (no heat). I found this most excellent sticky on that particular problem and I don't think I'll have any trouble doing that one : http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=294140

Problem #2: The face vents blow very weak. After googling I found a bunch of threads about weak air flow but I am not having the same problem. A lot of people seem to have broken recirculation doors. I may have that problem but I definitely have another that I really need suggestions on. Also it is not the blower motor. The flap actuator is no longer connected to the flap because the plastic flap arm is broken.