Bad Drag... the not-so-good MPG kind... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Bad Drag... the not-so-good MPG kind...

Brandon96

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Central Virginia
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT 4.0 OHV
I'm having some troubles with drag on my X. If I let off the gas and try to coast its just a big no go. At first I thought it was my tires, BFG A/Ts, but I drove my friend's X today and he has BFG M/Ts and wow.. I was just simply amazed at the difference. I jacked her up to take a look behind the wheels an I noticed only that my left front brake disk is warped, I can spin the tire about 3/4 freely then it locks. With mild force I can move it the last 1/4 turn and it spins freely again. I'm not sure juust that would create such a huge problem? it may though I'm no expert.

Now here's where it gets fun, while typing this I just cooked up that it could be the parking brake. Mine, is broken. I could ram the PB petal to the floor on the highway and nothing would happen. Is there some sort of failsafe on the Parking Brake? I'm thinking maybe it was broken partially engaged, possibly giving me a slight drag? Is this even possible?

Please any suggestions on what to do would be greatly appreciated seeing as how I get 12-13 MPG combined. It hurtss!:p:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You should be able to spin the front wheels w/o any sticky spots. And you should also be able to push the vehicle on flat ground when in Neutral.

I cannot push my X while in neutral. This sucks. Open for suggestions...