do 2002's suck? | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

do 2002's suck?

Just get one with a warranty. I would buy another 02 if I had to but I would just get one with a warranty.

What warranty is Ford offering on a 8yr old pre-owned vehicle? You aren't talking about one of those 3rd party warranty companies I hope...

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I am all for purchasing 2003 but the quote above is not exactly correct. Manufacturers and suppliers make revisions (both improvements and to correct defects) to parts mid year all the time, especially if problems are identified. It is also not "arbitrary" when the parts were made and assembled. (I was a Ford manufacturing engineer for several years 1993 time frame). Build date absolutely matters. I bought my 2002 new because of my needs at the time. Mine has not had abnormal amount of problems compared to others although I will say that problems of the Explorer was a lot more than any other Ford cars I have owned which has soured me on going Ford again.

I was specifically citing a 2002 in that it is arbitrary when the build date is on an 02 because they are known to have a lot of issues. You are misconstruing what I am saying, in generalizing other vehicle years....I am talking specifically about the '02 models.

I was specifically citing a 2002 in that it is arbitrary when the build date is on an 02 because they are known to have a lot of issues. You are misconstruing what I am saying, in generalizing other vehicle years....I am talking specifically about the '02 models.

As a whole yes, you can put all 02's in the same category. Since most prospective buyers are not looking at early or late build, its safe to put it all under one category.