Does anyone have this part for an A4LD. Thank you | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! Once registered you can join the Elite Explorers to eliminate ads from the website.

Does anyone have this part for an A4LD. Thank you

DUDER 1

Elite Explorer
Joined
September 11, 2009
Messages
416
Reaction score
68
City, State
Nomad
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT
I was wondering if anyone would have this plug for an A4LD. The plug is located on the driver side right behind the linkage. I will pay for the part. Thanks in advance guys. Have a great night.

2015-10-13_19.17.40_zpskcybxatp.jpg
 



Join the Elite Explorers $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!
.



BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,660
Reaction score
869
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars












BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,660
Reaction score
869
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars






DUDER 1

Elite Explorer
Joined
September 11, 2009
Messages
416
Reaction score
68
City, State
Nomad
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT
Thank you very much, the photo was from Google images so I hope that is ok to use. Thanks again.
 






BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,660
Reaction score
869
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars












natenkiki2004

Blue Bomb!
Joined
November 3, 2013
Messages
2,044
Reaction score
78
Location
North Idaho
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 & 1994 Explorers
Any standard 1/8" NPT plug will work. I'd wrap it in teflon and snug it down. It's a pressure port to read the internal fluid pressures of the transmission. A common mod is to place a temperature sensor here. Due to the nature of NPT, there is no length since it's conical shaped. Tighten until snug is the name of the game for plumbing parts.
 






BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,660
Reaction score
869
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars






DUDER 1

Elite Explorer
Joined
September 11, 2009
Messages
416
Reaction score
68
City, State
Nomad
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT
Ok perfect thank you very much. I bought a PML pan for our explorer and I want the temp sensor in the pan not the pressure port. That is why i was looking for one. Thanks for all the great info. What was the factory plug made of.
 






BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,660
Reaction score
869
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars






Rhett

Let Them Eat Cake
Elite Explorer
Joined
May 13, 2000
Messages
4,660
Reaction score
100
City, State
Cape Girardeau, MO
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 Sport 4x4
Is it better to monitor temp via that pressure port plug, or via the pan? I'd assume via that port, since it's right on the body of the trans...
 






natenkiki2004

Blue Bomb!
Joined
November 3, 2013
Messages
2,044
Reaction score
78
Location
North Idaho
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 & 1994 Explorers
I think the port, that's after the fluid's been through the pump and possibly after the torque converter as well. Pan temp should be lower since the fluid out of the cooler dumps there.
 






DUDER 1

Elite Explorer
Joined
September 11, 2009
Messages
416
Reaction score
68
City, State
Nomad
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT
I always thought the best place e for a temp sensor was in the pan. That is where I will end up putting mine sine I have the room now with the pml pan.
 






BrooklynBay

Moderator & long time member.
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
November 11, 2005
Messages
55,660
Reaction score
869
City, State
Brooklyn, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 89 93 95 96 Aerostars
The temperature sensor on the 5R55E is in the wiring harness in the pan so it makes me think that the pan might be the best place (at least according to the engineer who designed the wiring harness for that transmission).
 






DUDER 1

Elite Explorer
Joined
September 11, 2009
Messages
416
Reaction score
68
City, State
Nomad
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 XLT
I know I am probably just paranod but I wonder of the actual sensor part blocks flow at all since it is sitting in the fluid path.
 






Maniak

Moderator-Stock 91-94
Elite Explorer
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 9, 1999
Messages
12,063
Reaction score
124
City, State
Vail, Arizona
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 XLT 4x4
I'm another one that believe in putting the trans temp sensor in the pan. That's the temp of the fluid that is going "into" the trans. That is more or less what I care about.

If you are really paranoid you could put a sensor in the fluid as it comes out of the trans but the only reason I would really care about that is fluid breaking down due to extreme temps but you would know that is happening when your pan temp goes higher than normal..

I don't have an issue using the pressure port but in my case the trans in the explorer (700r4 conversion) has a trans pressure gauge. Since the 700r4 uses a TV cable I wanted to know if it broke or something let go in the trans. This last rebuild of the trans brought the pressures down (and shifts are less harsh) but in general the pressures from from 80 psi or so up to 160psi (maybe a little higher).. So, I really just look for abnormal pressures...

~Mark
 















Join the Elite Explorers $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!
.



Top