• Register Today It's free!

fuel pump install???

roadkill

Reaction score
City, State
costa mesa, calif.
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 Eddie B
Got the noisy fuel pump, gonna install it when it comes from FPN. I am a decent mechanic, rebuilt the LS dif, xfr case, brakes, etc...

My question is: How hard is it to do,
a) I know the tank should be empty
b) I have the fitting tools to remove the gas lines
c) what can I count on for time?
d) Besides dropping the tank, is it a pain to access the lines to drop the tank down?

Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If you can do brakes, xfr cases, etc you won't have any problem with the tank. Expect less than 1.5 hrs to do the job. Hardest part would be removing the filler hoses. You might not even need to do that.

Road,

Make sure you bleed the pressure off the fuel lines BEFORE disconnecting them. You won't get a facefull of gas that way.

Also, make sure the tanks in good shape before reinstalling it.

Does your Gas tank have a skid plate underneath it?

Jim

I did my 92 in an easy afternoon, with time for a few beers along the way... I did find that my air wrenches were invaluable for reinstalling the tank by myself.... not essential, but nice... little 3/8 butterfly would let me get a strap bolt to grab quickly as I kept pressure on it to keep it lined up. Otherwise a helper might be a nice addition (buy extra beer for the helper). Also if you have a brass punch or drift use it on the ring to pull the pump assembly out (sparkless) if not maybe put a rag on the tang on the retainer ring (you'll understand what I am saying once you see it) before you strike it with a hammer. Be careful as you remove and reinstall the pump. All in all, on a scale of 1 to 5 with 5 being the hardest and spark plug replacement being a 2, it's a 2.5.

Happy exploring

Chris