• Register Today It's free!

Fuel Pump or what?

eldridge2668

Reaction score
City, State
Grand Junction, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Ford Explorer EB
Ok, so I am not an expert mechanic, but I am not afraid to try and can't afford a mechanic (baby on the way, really need this vehicle to run right). I have a 93 Ford Explorer that runs just fine when the engine is cool. However, the warmer the engine is the worse it runs. It will start out with just not having much power and cutting out when trying to start out at a stop sign etc. Then as it gets warmer it will idle rougher and rougher, possibly die, and finally be near impossible to restart until it cools. Based on other posts we changed out the IAC, MAF sensor, and the EGR. None have fixed the problem. We searched for vacuum leaks and did not find any. It was suggested to us by a Ford mechanic that it is more likely a fuel problem than a vacuum problem. Money is tight and changing the fuel pump is not a quick task (its in the fuel tank) so I don't want to replace it only to find out that it still isn't fixed. We pulled the codes and got the following:

157 Mass Air Flows Sensor Circuit Below Minimum Voltage
186 Injector Pulse Width Higher Than Expected (With BARO Sensor)
Injector Pulse Width Higher Or Mass Air Flow Lower Than Expected (Less BARO Sensor)
556 Fuel Pump Relay Primary Circuit Failure
116 Engine Coolant Temperature Higher Or Lower Than Expected (I'm guessing this is because we just added a lot of water and very little coolant, this can be fixed easily just hasn't been the primary focus)
172 HO2S System Indicates Lean
136 System Indicates Lean (Bank No. 1)
332 Insufficient EGR Flow Detected
411 Cannot Control RPM During KOER Low RPM Check (This is because the vehicle chokes out and dies before it can finish the test. I tried multiple times and it always dies at the same time: right after it revs up and then drops the idle back down, it runs really rough for a few seconds and dies)